Ancient Classical Era Coins
480 - 323 BC

This encompasses ancient Greek cities and Empires

The Classical Era can be defined as the high point of artistic tradition and culture. This period is followed by the Hellenistic Era which is age following Alexander the Great (died 323 BC).

Archaic Era
Hellenistic Greek
Back to Home

pictures of coin coin notes, font arial history notes, default font

Athens silver tetradrachm
454 - 440 BC
Stack's NYICS Auction, Jan 5th, 2012, lot# 213
The Numismatic Auction Ltd, Tradart, auction 2,
Dec 12, 1983, NY (USA), lot# 109

Owls refer to a wide group of coins of similar design struck by Athens.
Archaic Owls were made from c. 510 - 480 BC.
Transitional Owls were made from around 475 - 455 BC.
Mass produced Owls also called Mass Classical, such as this one here, were made from around 454 - 440 BC.
Owls were made until the fall of Athens in 413 BC. Also New Style Owls were made when Athens was under the indirect rule of Rome ca. 140 BC.

Athenian Tetradrachms
by Reid Goldworthy, USA, publ. date unknown. His classic article on these pieces.
I'm working on creating a permanent pdf copy with all the pictures embedded.
Cointalk Discussion on Athenian owls

Tarsos, Capitol of Cicilia
silver stater
ca. 425 - 400 BC
Auction, ca. 1997

These coins feature a Hopalite warrior with a poorly struck Persian horseman on the obverse

wt ~ 10 grams, size 21mm, 2h

Phoenician city of Sidon
silver Dishekel also called an Octadrachm
King Abdashtart (Straton) I
reigned 365-352 BC ?
(27mm, est wt 25.5 g), dated royal year 2 (362 - 361 BC)

Archaic Era
Hellenistic Greek
Back to Home